Charlie

Welcome to the first of many posts in a story that I am writing!

I will update with a new chapter every Saturday. This is a different format for me. My usual technique is to start a project, work at for a bit, conclude that it’s not good and then abandon it forever. My hope is that positive reinforcement from other people will allow me to actually follow through and complete a work, which is the only way for me to improve my writing.

I don’t want to say too much here about the story itself, but generally speaking, it will be what’s called “Rational fiction”, in the spirit of Worm or Harry Potter and the Methods of Rationality. I sincerely doubt it will be nearly as long as either those (highly recommended) examples. I’m not setting out to do anything but tell a good story, but there will be several hallmarks of the genre. Characters think things through. Nobody holds the Idiot Ball. If people aren’t thinking as clearly as they should there is a reason. There will be mysterious elements that you, the reader, will be able to piece together. If you’re not careful, you might even learn something.

This is going to be a rough draft, of course. Constructive criticism is very much encouraged, and I reserve the right to edit as I go. The purpose of this is to make me a better writer, and you can’t get better without changing stuff. I don’t like retcons myself, but if it serves the story I hope you’ll bear with me.

I think that about covers it. Thanks for reading this far, and hopefully you’ll be back Saturday to get your first glimpse!

With all due respect,

jdogmoney

One thought on “Charlie

  1. Hey there! Great story so far; we’re really enjoying it over on r/rational. Care to stop by the Charlie post and say hi? We’d love to hear from you (read: will probably be asking you tons of questions and constantly asking for updates on when to expect new chapters)!

    Like

Leave a Reply

